Joint Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee to review "Shaping Health Services Together - Consultation on developing new, high-quality major trauma and stroke services in London"

<u>1pm – 6pm Monday 23rd March 2009</u>

Venue: Council Chamber, Lambeth Town Hall, Brixton Hill, London SW2 1RW

Contact officer: Joanne Tutt; jtutt@lambeth.gov.uk, 020 7926 2173

Committee Membership: attached

Public Agenda

1. (1PM) WELCOME, INTRODUCTIONS AND APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Any Member of the Committee, or any other Member present in the meeting room, having any personal or prejudicial interest in any item before the meeting is reminded to make the appropriate oral declaration at the start of proceedings. At meetings where the public are allowed to be in attendance and with permission speak, any Member with a prejudicial interest may also make representations, answer questions or give evidence but must then withdraw from the meeting room before the matter is discussed and before any vote is taken.

3. MINUTES (5 MARCH 2009) (PAGES 1 - 14)

To agree.

4. WITNESS PROGRAMME UPDATE (PAGES 15 - 16)

To receive.

5. (1.15PM-2.15PM) WITNESS SESSION – BERNELL BUSSUE, REGIONAL DIRECTOR, ROYAL COLLEGE OF NURSING

(2.15pm – 2.30pm Break.)

6. (2.30PM-3.30PM) WITNESS SESSION – GRAHAM SIMPSON, DIRECTOR OF STRATEGY AND PROFESSOR KARIN BROHI, ROYAL LONDON TRAUMA CENTRE

(3.30pm - 3.45pm) Break.

7. (3.45PM-4.45PM) WITNESS SESSION – ANNIE CLANCEY, LONDON CO-ORDINATOR AND NORMAN KEENE, VICE CHAIR, EAST LONDON, HEADWAY

8. (4.45PM – 5.45PM) WITNESS SESSION – SIMON WILLIAMS (LB MERTON), ASSOCIATION OF DIRECTORS OF ADULTS SOCIAL SERVICES

9. (5.45 PM)ANY OTHER BUSINESS

[Each written report on the public part of the Agenda as detailed above:

- (i) was made available for public inspection from the date of the Agenda;
- (ii) incorporates a list of the background papers which (i) disclose any facts or matters on which that report, or any important part of it, is based; and (ii) have been relied upon to a material extent in preparing it. (Relevant documents which contain confidential or exempt information are not listed.); and
- (iii) may, with the consent of the Chairman and subject to specified reasons, be supported at the meeting by way of oral statement or further written report in the event of special circumstances arising after the despatch of the Agenda.]

Exclusion of the Press and Public

There are no matters scheduled to be discussed at this meeting that would appear to disclose confidential or exempt information under the provisions Schedule 12A of the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985.

Should any such matters arise during the course of discussion of the above items or should the Chairman agree to discuss any other such matters on the grounds of urgency, the Committee will wish to resolve to exclude the press and public by virtue of the private nature of the business to be transacted.

PARTICIPATING AUTHORITIES

London Boroughs

	Appointed Member	Substitute Member(s)
Barking and Dagenham	Cllr Marie West	
Barnet	Cllr Sachin Rajput	
Bexley	Cllr David Hurt	Cllr Ross Downing
Brent	Cllr Chris Leaman	Cllr George Crane
Bromley	Cllr Carole Hubbard	Cllr Judi Ellis
Camden	Cllr John Bryant	Cllr Pat Callaghan
City of London	Cllr Ken Ayers	
Croydon	Cllr Graham Bass	
Ealing	Cllr Greg Stafford	Cllr Zahida Abbas Noori
Enfield	Cllr Ann-Marie Pearce	Cllr Vivien Giladi
Greenwich	Cllr Janet Gillman	Cllr Mick Hayes
Hackney	Cllr Jonathan McShane	Cllr Daniel Kemp
Hammersmith & Fulham	Cllr Peter Tobias	Cllr Rory Vaughan
Haringey	Cllr Gideon Bull	
Harrow	Cllr Vina Mithani	Cllr Margaret Davine
Havering	Cllr Ted Eden	
Hillingdon	Cllr Mary O'Connor	Cllr Judith Cooper
Hounslow	Cllr Jon Hardy	Cllr Felicity Barwood
		Cllr Ruth Cadbury
Islington	Cllr Paul Convery	Cllr Marisha Ray
Kensington and Chelsea	Cllr Christopher	
	Buckmaster	

Kingston upon Thames	Cllr Don Jordan	
Lambeth	Cllr Helen O'Malley	
Lewisham	Cllr Sylvia Scott	Cllr Alan Hall
Merton	Cllr Gilli Lewis-	Cllr Sheila Knight
	Lavender	
Newham	Cllr Winston Vaughan	Cllr Ted Sparrowhawk
Redbridge		Cllr Filly Maravala
		Cllr Ralph Scott
Richmond upon Thames	Cllr Nicola Urquhart	
Southwark	Cllr Adedokun Lasaki	
Sutton	Cllr Stuart Gordon-	Cllr Jayne McCoy
	Bullock	
Tower Hamlets	Cllr Lutfa Begum	Cllr Stephanie Eaton
Waltham Forest	Cllr Richard Sweden	
Wandsworth	Cllr Ian Hart	
Westminster	Cllr Susie Burbridge	

Health Scrutiny chairmen for social services authorities covering the areas of all the non-London PCTs to whom NHS London wrote in connection with 'Healthcare for London' were contacted (December 2008) concerning participation in the proposed JOSC. As of 23.01.09, those authorities who have indicated a preference for participation are as follows:

Essex – Cllr Christopher Pond